Pumpkin chocolate chip cakes are a favorite in our family and I spend the whole month of October through the whole month of November pumpkin baking in every shape with every add-in we can think of. The only part of every recipe I absolutely require is that they are easy to make, don’t have too many ingredients, easy to clean and of course – delicious!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake
Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake With Iced Glaze

My pumpkin chocolate chip easy recipe starts with cake box as the big easy, a can of pumpkin (NOT pumpkin pie filling though!) and in this case I chose the bundt pan because I love the shape and topping it with glaze and/or powdered sugar works bypassing the usual thick frosting we love on the other cakes.

Ingredients and Prep:

Photo Oct 15, 12 54 55 PM

Gather a mixing bowl, spatula for hand mixing and a teaspoon then get the following ingredients ready to go while you preheat the oven to 350

  • Box of cake mix I chose yellow cake mix
  • 1 Can of Pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling!)
  • 2 tsp of oil – I always use olive oil but feel free to use your preference
  • 3/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • Chocolate Chips

First the cake mix, can of pumpkin and 2 tsp of oil hand mix until completely blended and no cake mix is visible. Add brown sugar and cinnamon and blend thoroughly. If you don’t like pumpkin cake very sweet, start with 1/2 cup of brown sugar and work your way up to taste.  Once blended thoroughly, fold in the chocolate chips and get ready to bake for 40-45 minutes or until your oven says it’s time. When in doubt slide a toothpick in and if it comes out moist or with batter on it, it’s not ready.

I spray my baking pans with a non-stick olive oil spray and usually have no problem with them sliding out nicely.  Your Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cake will be deliciously golden brown when it’s ready, but wait how about adding some mouthwatering vanilla sugar icing glaze for that special last touch.

Vanilla Sugar Icing Glaze

Vanilla Sugar Glaze is my favorite icing for topping my bundt cakes and loafs especially my Banana Bread Chocolate Cake. So easy to make and you can sweeten it to your own favorite taste in toppings.
Icing With Sugar Glaze Ingredients
Vanilla Sugar Glaze Icing
Vanilla Sugar Glaze Icing
  • 1 Cup Powdered (Confectioners Sugar) Sugar
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 2 tsp Water or Milk (I Use Water)
I start with a 1 cup of confectioners sugar. Then I add a full teaspoon of vanilla extract. Then I add about 2 tsp of water (you can use milk or even half and half if you prefer for a little thicker glaze) and I add the water slowly and start mixing by hand. The powdery sugar mixes with the wonderful vanilla then starts to come to just the consistency you choose. If you like your glaze thin, add little bits of water at a time until it’s just right for you. If you like more glaze and a little thicker add more powdered sugar. Adjust the glaze until it’s the right taste and consistency for your family.
Then I just drizzle away. You can use a spoon or mix up the glaze in a 2 cup mixing glass with a pour spout too. I chose to go with a classic striped bundt pattern but it’s your cake, drizzle it your way! Add layers of glaze or keep it light. Be sure to reach the inside of the cake too because you want to get that glazey goodness in every bite.
Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake
Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake

I would gladly have taken more photos but by the time I got back to the kitchen, well here’s the reviews!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake Reviews
Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake Received Excellent Reviews From The Family – Within 10 minutes of finishing the vanilla icing topping, half the cake was gone
